Dufferin’s Historical Museum is located at the corner of King’s Park Road and Hwy 245. Surrounded by the Carman Golf Course and King’s Park this wonderful facility is superbly located for an afternoon of education and recreation. After an hour spent wandering through the region’s history, visitors can enjoy a picnic in King’s Park or a refreshing swim at Carman’s Pool, only 200 meters away.
The original Museum was a small wooden structure, built in 1959 by the Dufferin Historical Society. In 1967 it was replaced by the present structure, which was a centennial project of the Municipality of Dufferin and the Town of Carman. It is operated by volunteers of the Historical Society on behalf of Carman and surrounding communities. The purpose of the Museum is to preserve for posterity, artifacts and records of historical interest which illustrate the way of life of our predecessors, many of whom came from other lands.
Visiting the museum you will see collections of: early 1900’s furniture, a pianola, various clocks, early wedding dresses, tools, weapons, coins, books, household items, children’s toys, Dutch artifacts and recollections of pioneer days depicted in a series of 24 water color portraits.
Visitors are welcome to tour the 1870’s Sexsmith-Morgan log house
surrounded by Native Manitoba flower beds located at the museum site.
Board of Directors
President: Trish Aubin
Vice-President: Tyler King
Secretary: Sharla Murray
Treasurer: Shirley Snider
2017 President’s Report
Under 5: Free
Family: $25.00 (includes 2 adults & 2 students)